Random lane changing

The latest example of bad driving occurred nearby just last weekend.  Remember this is a busy, 3 lane road with lots of stores and plazas, so there is lots of turning and lane changing.

When first getting on this road, or when preparing to turn right, I often find myself ‘stuck’ in the right hand lane.  This is a particularly bad place to be, as too many people drive in the right lane when they shouldn’t.  Either they aren’t turning at all, or aren’t turning for a long time.  Get out of the right lane!   You are only in the way of the people who need to turn and people who want to turn onto the road.   Too many don’t give the person turning enough space, or slow down enough, which always makes it feel like a rear end collision is imminent.

In this case, I was in the right lane because  I needed to exit soon.  Unfortunately for me, the car in the middle lane decided they needed to be in the right lane too – in the same space as my car!   Without a turn signal they started to change lanes.  I beeped and slowed down abruptly, which was good since they never stopped moving over, they just kept going.  If I had been less aware, this would have been an accident.  The next day, it happened again!  Neither driver stopped changing lanes or did anything to indicate they realized a car was already in the spot they tried to move into, which makes me wonder – did they not see me at all, or did they somehow think they actually had an open lane to move into?  All the more reason to stay in the middle lane though that has its own risks.

Remember to always check the lane you are moving into when changing lanes AND use your turn signal!

Leave a comment